Enterprise 2.0 – "Social Networking within the firewall…"

Meet Charlie … an interesting Slideshare presentation that (IMHO) explains the concepts of this thing called enterprise 2.0 … extolling the use of RSS, wikis, blogs, social networking, web-based collaboration and project management, and podcasting, to name a few.

Sounds promising, huh? This is the office or work stream of the future, you think? Maybe so … but I’m finding that this vision is a long way from reality when it comes to larger organizations that are very very set in their ways of doing things.  Ah … but not to give up. Where there’s hope, there’s … well … hope.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in collaboration, collaborative writing, enterprise 2.0, informal learning, knowledge transfer, presentations, productivity, social networks, technology, web 2.0, web culture, wiki. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enterprise 2.0 – "Social Networking within the firewall…"

  1. sewgoodsewfar says:

    Hi,
    I just found your blog completely by accident, but it must be fate, I just finished my M.A. in Instructional Technology, which includes Instructional Design. (I was drawn in by your post about the Captivate eSeminar) About the above slideshow, yes it does look promising, but unfortunately, not too likely, as you already said. I would LOVE an opportunity to be like “Charlie” because it looks like he gets to work at home, my dream. Perhaps someday this will catch on, one can only hope. I look forward to reading more of your previous posts, as I find this topic of eLearning and ISD VERY interesting. I think I may even subscribe to an RSS feed, see I learned something from that slideshow up there! Thanks.

    Anna L.

  2. Ted says:

    “yes it does look promising, but unfortunately, not too likely”

    I agree. I’ve been using some social networking software at work myself. While there are pockets of enthusiasm for the technology, wide adoption is very slow. A particular obstacle is the issue of giving up ownership of content. Some appear unwilling make content available for anyone to edit.

    And please someone correct Charlie’s egregious use of apostrophes!

  3. Rory says:

    Anna … Thanks for stopping by. Congrats on your M.A. That’s quite an accomplishment.
    My firm allows me to work from home now … and frankly I love it more for my ability to better balance the demands of work and homelife. Enterprise 2.0 stuff, like Charlie, still not in the cards yet.

    Ted … I find two major hurdles. The first one is what you state. I completely agree that the perception of giving up ownership of the content is frightening to many. And it makes me wonder if its the content itself that they’re so wedded to or the ability to control its distribution that’s more important. Ah well.
    Hurdle number two for me is a tech environment in an organization that is unsupportive or so controlling as to be hostile. That, too, may be an issue of ownership and control.

  4. Pingback: She wants to connect with anybody - Enterprise 1.0 « Learn-Learn-Learn

Comments are closed.