what if things looked like this?

So the other day I inserted my tongue firmly in my cheek (and bit my tongue quite frequently doing so) to outline what I see as a real problem with many many many instructional designs. [If video games were designed as training programs] … and one retweet started with the word, “Ouch.”

Of course, not all training programs are like the way I posted. But I would offer that there are plenty of them that are. They are boring – plain and simple.

The same twitter follower offered this further observation:

…and if training programs were designed like games, they might look like this. Jesse Schell at DICE 2010

and I offer the video to which she refers here.

You’re going to have to click this link … http://g4tv.com/videos/44277/DICE-2010-Design-Outside-the-Box-Presentation/

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in facebook, gaming, instructional design, learning. Bookmark the permalink.