quote of the morning from Brent Schlenker

As he recaps some of his experiences at the Innovations in eLearning conference … great statement:

I’m certain some of the more traditional learning designers wonder why
some of us find kindred spirits in the likes of game designers.  The
simple answer is that because game developers are able to do what
learning developers have not been able to do: utilize technology to
engage, involve, and immerse a learner.  Make no mistake, ALL games are
about learning.

Wish I had been there … but thanks, Brent, for sharing your thumbnails of your time there.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in game based learning, gaming, instructional design, learning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to quote of the morning from Brent Schlenker

  1. Hello! No problem. I really enjoyed my time at iel2010 and met some great, creative, professionals. Now I’m ramping up for mLearnCon to focus completely on the mobile side of eLearning. That’s going to be great as well.
    Thanks for sharing my quote!
    Cheers!
    Brent

Comments are closed.