Com-sux-tic: They actually train them to do this?!?

We’ve had serious problems with our cable TV connection. Dreading the conversation I knew was going to occur, we called Comcast, our provider … of course we had to walk through the typical ‘punch list’ items of:
“Please unplug the cable box, wait five minutes …”
“Let me test your signal from the office here …”
and on and on

No dice! We have to schedule a technician to come to the house. After several screw ups with the appointment on their end, the Comcast tech arrives and does really nothing but look at the connections and tells us that we’re okay.

Only to have the very same problem re-occur the following week. Yep – we have to get a tech to come back for a second visit. 

So, as the wife is on the phone scheduling the appointment with them, the representative asks, “And would you be interested in our Triple Play service?”

Huh?!? So, let me get this straight … we’re calling a second time for a problem that should have been solved the first time (indeed we were told that it was fixed the first time – HA!) … and after the second exasperating call with the operator, she asks if we want to purchase yet more services from them?!?

Hey, Comcast! I have an idea … deliver your TV service flawlessly first.

I can’t help but think that this operator went through some kind of training, however cursory, that cajoled her into trying to cross-sell and up-sell when their current customers call. A very cookie-cutter approach …
Here’s the problem with such a cookie-cutter approach … this phone operator should have been trained on when it is appropriate to attempt an additional sale (or at least when to avoid an attempt, as in when an already frustrated and irate customer is on the phone) .

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in stupid stupid companies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Com-sux-tic: They actually train them to do this?!?

  1. ComcastMark says:

    I apologize for the experience. I would like to share your experience with our regional contacts so that this can be addressed. Will you please let me know the phone number associated with the account? You can reach me at the email provided below.

    Thanks in advance,

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Corp.
    National Customer Operations
    We_Can_Help@cable.comcast.com

  2. Natalie says:

    Have you seen this show (IT Crowd)?

    This clip sums up much of my experience (in the past) with IT/tech support. I’m working at a place with much better IT support now 🙂
    Enjoy:

Comments are closed.