Invited to a Game-Based Learning/Virtual World workgroup

Cool! A small workgroup has been created to explore game-based learning and the use of virtual worlds for learning. They’ve invited me to join them.
I hope that this is more than just “exploring” … that we get to tackle some work that will be shown and used by our clients.

The first meeting’s agenda worries me a little bit … it mentions the use of a virtual world technology (specifically, Second Life) as though it is a gaming platform. I’ve written about Second Life and some of my concerns in previous posts.

Update: After discussing the concern of biting off more than could be chewed if we included SL, the group has decided to not include virtual worlds in our research work. Hooray!

Update again: Due to the looming integration as a result of the merger, the workgroup is put on hold.
Oh well … here’s hoping that we can be resurrected soon.

 

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in game based learning, gaming, project work, Second Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Invited to a Game-Based Learning/Virtual World workgroup

  1. Pingback: How Can We Incorporate Gaming into our Instructional Designs? « Learn-Learn-Learn

Comments are closed.