Do folks really really learn differently?

There seems to be a lot of “of course” replies to this question … where there are many assumptions made about differences between generations. But is this truly the case? If so, then what data can we point to that demonstrates this?

A commentor offered: Boomers learn differently than Gen X’ers. Gen X’ers learn differently than Gen Y’ers.

Perhaps it is more about adaptability and facility with use of technology whereby the younger generations operate with a different set of assumptions about how to use the tech. But does this translate into true differences in how people learn? And if this is true, what data could you point me to that demonstrates this?

And don’t even get me started in the whole learning styles thing. Check out Clive Shepherd‘s great post: Learning styles don’t exist.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in cognitive science, learning, web culture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do folks really really learn differently?

  1. Rory says:

    Thanks much, Janet.

  2. Pingback: Do different generations learn differently? | Workplace Learning Today

Comments are closed.