Library of Congress and Flickr

File this under this-is-the-coolest-thing-I’ve-read-today.

The Library of Congress and photosharing site Flickr today announced a partnership that will put photos from the LoC’s collection online in a social environment and users to interact with them. The Library is home to more than 14 million photographs and other visual materials, and to start they’ve selected about 1500 works each from two of their collections that are known to exist in the public domain. The images come from the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information and The George Grantham Bain Collection, for which no known copyright exists. The collections will be housed on the LoC’s Flickr page.

So I went to the Library of Congress page and … Hot Dog! I’m loving it.

It’s divided into two sets, as of the moment: News on the 1910’s and 1930’s-40’s in Color. I checked out the 1930’s-40’s set (because most of what I’ve seen of that era has been black and white images. Very little by the way of color)

And I am loving it –

This is a bygone time that I’ve heard so many stories about – mostly from Dad. Born in 1924, he remembered quite vividly the Great Depression and how it affected his family in New York and then his running away from home at age 14 and finally his joining the Merchant Marine (who are very much unsung heros of World War II – in my humble opinion!).

Photo of Coast Guardsmen - from LOC Collection (not my father) 

(This is not my Dad – but it is how I had imagined him many times hearing stories).

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in collaboration, informal learning, knowledge transfer, learning, Net Generation, social networks, web 2.0, web culture. Bookmark the permalink.