Library computing – high demand, inadequate infrastructure

(Link to article here)

My hometown only recently completed a large campaign – including a ballet measure to issue a bond – to expand our public library. And BOY! do they need to expand! No argument from me … although there was a small but very vocal group of stingy misers citizens who oppose the expansion …

In recent months, I’ve only used our public library to get stuff through the interlibrary loan system … ours is soooo small that there’s just not enough room to put any more books or periodicals.

Our library is used quite a lot by students … So, from my own perspective, in my little world the public library provides needed services and is an important part of our community.

This article got me to think about what it may take to get our libraries updated as they still seem to provide a needed and wanted service to the communities they serve.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in informal learning, learning, technology. Bookmark the permalink.