My addition to Jay’s Top Ten

Here at the Centre for Learning & Performance Technologies, Jay Cross offers his top ten favorite tools for learning.

I have to admit that I’d not heard of QuickTopic before.

My list would include Coventi, which I use much more than Google Docs & Spreadsheets. I dig Coventi’s collaboration capabilities much more.

 My biggest challenge when working on a document with others is having the ability to not just see the changes made by them – but to be able to discuss and refine those changes … without having to constantly edit and re-edit and re-re-edit the changes.

Coventi makes this possible for me because of its feature of highlighting and commenting – which then appear in a sidebar next to the document.

You can watch a video of Coventi from their blog site.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in collaboration, Coventi. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My addition to Jay’s Top Ten

  1. nkilkenny says:

    Thanks for the tip, Rory. I will check Coventi out. I was wondering do you have a recommendation for a Synchronous Chat tool (sans-audio). I’m looking for something that allows the participants to record/document and post their chat dialogue (as well as turn on/off the recording). A plus would be a live image or document sharing. I know Skype seems to work pretty well, but I’m still trying to figure out if there are restrictions with different platforms and operating systems.

  2. Rory says:

    Hey nk …
    Hmmmm. I can’t say that I know anything more than having used Skype for what you’re requiring here.
    But as I come across stuff and find things that work – I’ll be sure to include in subsequent posts. (sorry that I’m not much help on this right now).
    -Rory

  3. Mike Berta says:

    I checked out Coventi and liked it enough to move it into a more official run with a collaborative document coming up in my next class.

    I agree with earlier posts that document control procedures are tough, made tougher by those who lack awareness of document control. Coventi seemed/seems like a feasible solution to the problem.

    Should it work in my next test, I may release it for my dissertation process, step 1 coming after the first of the year.

    Thanks for the blogroll link; I enjoy learn-learn-learn!

    Mike

  4. Rory says:

    Hey Mike,
    Thanks for the comment. I hope that Coventi works for you and what you need. (And good luck with your dissertation)

    My pleasure including you in the blogroll. I’ve enjoyed exploring your blog.

    -Rory

Comments are closed.