Visuwords – Really neat visual dictionary

It’s all about relationships, baby … and the richness of seeing (this works for me since I’m a very visual learner) the relationships.

Visuwords is the latest thing that’s made it into my bookmarks. It is graphical dictionary where you can see relationships of words and concepts to others.

Here’s where I typed “learn” … (You’ll have to click the image to see it clearly … sorry ’bout that … ).

visuwordsexample1

On the site after you get the display, hover your mouse over each node to see the definition. You can even click the node to focus on it and get a new set of relationships.

An interesting part of the display is that it shows relationships of concepts one to the other. They have a key (again, you’ll have to click to see it clearly) :

visuwordskey1

That explains the color coding of the nodes and the lines/arrows. Very cool.

I like that it not only shows similar concepts but it also shows antonyms and non-examples and how they relate to the word being defined.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in informal learning, visual thinking, web 2.0. Bookmark the permalink.