2.0 coming to a company near you – probably already arrived

Saw this reference on Jay Cross’ Informal Learning Blog:

Younger Workers Demanding Web 2.0 Tech On The Job … wherein he cites a Yahoo News story  …

Younger employees — like that new batch of college grads hitting the market right now — are going to be pushing employers to use Web 2.0 technologies on the job. And if their companies don’t start adopting them, younger workers will most likely just start using them on the sly

Is it that most of the steam-ship-sized corporations’ IT groups are run by “digital immigrants” rather than ‘digital natives?’ Again from that Yahoo News story:

“People are bringing from home an expectation of how computing should be,” said Dennis Moore, a general manager with SAP, who also gave a keynote presentation Tuesday morning. “Ten or 20 years ago, people did not bring computing expectations to the office. Now people have better computer technologies at home. … People want to use their favorite technologies at work. They’re satisfying themselves and not waiting for IT.”

Now what might this do for the landscape that is affectionately known as learning – training – instructional design – courses – and such?

If workers – these digital natives – have a higher expectation of how technology ought to work and support them on their job … then what might we assume those expectations to be when it comes to their learning? Are we ISD-ers prepared now to meet these challenges (nope!)?

So then, what are we doing – or should be doing? … cuz’ chances are that most of us (and I’m counted among this number) are from the immigrant class.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in enterprise 2.0, informal learning, instructional design, Net Generation, web 2.0. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2.0 coming to a company near you – probably already arrived

  1. Dennis Moore says:

    I see the claim often that it is “young people” who bring these kinds of changes, but I’m not so sure this claim is backed up with any research. Young people are playing with technologies and new ways of socializing, but it takes people experienced in the workplace to integrate these novelties so that they become valuable. I also think that there is a bell curve regardless of age regarding technology adoption — I wonder if there is any research to show that young people have a bell curve more skewed towards early adopters/technology enthusiasts than do older people (or a “wider” curve,” or any significant difference at all …). I think this is one of those “makes sense to me” things that we don’t question, and I’m not sure this is anything but anecdotally based …

  2. Rory says:

    Hi Dennis and thanks for commenting.
    I would disagree that the 2.0-type technologies are novelties, as you characterize.
    Anecdotal evidence is not to be discounted; and it does seem to bear out that this current generation of workers are indeed being a catalyst for change – particularly in moving enterprises toward adopting the technologies.
    Speaking from my own experience and the brick walls I’ve encountered, I’m not entirely convinced that more experienced people in an enterprise – particularly those who are steeped in the corporate culture of their organization and are committed to maintaining a ‘status quo’ – are the best change agents.

Comments are closed.