Sad Day: Lost a real teacher for us science buffs

Just heard on the radio [NPR] that Don Herbert died last night. He was 89.

I remember watching him on Mr. Wizard’s World – in reruns – and absolutely loved it. 

I came to love his approach of asking questions during every step in the experiments … a way to really draw me in …

And from what I can remember he only used ordinary household stuff rather than science lab equipment … so instead of a beaker, he’d use an ordinary jar … it made the whole learning experience (and I never once thought I was actually learning something while watching him) fun and, well, just neat.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in In Memoriam, learning, science. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sad Day: Lost a real teacher for us science buffs

  1. nkilkenny says:

    I saw that too… Boy was I really bummed out when I found out. My brother and I used to make a mess doing his experiments. Love how he made science accessible and fun.

Comments are closed.