Job Invention

I’ve mentioned the Super-Awesome project before … it’s still going – in fact, it is what’s taking up most of my time.  What continues to make this project fun is that it ventures into territories that are as-yet unexplored, let alone settled. 

Case in point … that of inventing a job that’s never existed before – and that no one really knows how to describe or define. …

Of course we’re brainstorming on what we’d think are the transferrable skills for just such a job; however, we all admit that this somewhat shooting in the dark.  The reality is likely that the actual job will be quite different from what we eventually describe.

Essentially we’re trying to prepare folks to take on responsibilities in a job that we’ve never imagined existing before. No one receives training or certification for this … and it has become apparent that we don’t train anybody to take on this job.

A lot like what we’re doing with our kids … using 19th century schooling to – ahem – prepare them for 21st century life … and for jobs and work that we can’t even imagine yet. 

As much as I’ve read and read and talked and talked about this – it hadn’t “hit home” until trying to figure out this new and completely invented job as part of this project I’m working on.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer, project work. Bookmark the permalink.