Slow-cooking the frog … Prices at the pump inch up steadily

I’ve noticed for the last several weeks here in the ‘garden state’ that gas prices are going up bit-by-bit at a very steady pace. Each week I’ve noticed a range of 5-7 cents increase.   This week’s price increase means it costs me nearly 2-3 times as much as it did during the Christmas holidays.  And this time there’s nary a word about this on the news.

It reminds me of the story that if you boil a pot of water, and then drop in a frog … the frog will leap out because of the sudden change – it knows it is in danger.

But if you put the frog in first and then very slowly bring the water to a boil, the frog won’t move … it gets accustomed to the slow changes in the water until it eventually boils and dies.

 

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.