Increasing informal learning

( Sims Learning Connections )

This post by Ray Sims is a great list of ideas on ways to increase/adapt informal learning … a few of my favorites:

For every new piece of formal learning, explore complementary informal learning opportunities — explicitly driving this exploration through process

Make contribution expected

Make feedback expected

Improve content findability. Obsessive attention to enterprise federated search, cross-linking, social tagging, content reuse strategies, etc

Improve people findability. Both expertise location applications and other means

The entire list of 25 is well worth pondering.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in informal learning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Increasing informal learning

  1. Ray Sims says:

    Hi Rory,

    My pleasure. I’m glad that you found value in the list.

    Plus, thanks for the implicit pointer to your own blog…now added to my feedreader since I see we are interested in similar topics.

    Be well,
    Ray

  2. Rory says:

    Ray,
    Thank you for commenting. And thanks for your list – and your blog.

    Keep up the excellent work …

    -Rory

  3. nkilkenny says:

    Very nice. These are good expectations to build. I love using wiki profile pages to house expertise, blog and ‘pet topic’ coverage.

Comments are closed.