DS Title Teaches English

A popular DS game in Japan is getting a sequel … Eigo ga Nigate na Otona no DS Training Eigo Zuke

( Link ) … one of the best selling “non-games” for the DS. Just as it did with Brain Age, Nintendo is adding a “Motto” (Japanese for “More”) to the title and having one more go at sorta-kinda teaching the Japanese how to speak English.

I’ve not played Brain Age … but have played Big Brain Academy, and I have to say that I enjoy playing it quite a lot. Part of its appeal (and I’m assuming the same is true for those who enjoy Brain Age) is that you can pick it up – play for five minutes – put it down … and feel like I just had a short burst of fun … can anyone say “learning objects”? 

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in game based learning, gaming, informal learning. Bookmark the permalink.