Getting Organized – and the Tools I’ve Tried

I’m a visual thinker. Organizing my projects, research and work … and to do so easily (ha!) … and staying organized what with all the many new demands being made of me … a challenge to say the least.

I’m taking on a new role with my firm – and I’m still managing projects, conducting analyses and consulting with some clients – which requires my making many more presentations than I’ve had to in the past.

 Among the many challenges is that my work (individual projects) frequently intersects with the work of others – for instance, some colleagues are working on process mapping something … and my project touches upon their work in that I am managing an offshore relationship which has different process requirements than our onshore resources.

So many intersection points, so many communication plans, so many tasks … I have been searching for and trying out several tools (online as well as the good, old-fashioned paper versions). And I’ve been coming down squarely in the more “traditional” camps with stuff that’s been around for awhile – like mind mapping and concept mapping. At any rate, for what it’s worth … here are some tools that I’ve found helpful in one way or another.

Mind Mapping – FreeMind … this one ranks as one of my favorite tools

Concept Mapping – CmapTools … I used this a lot awhile ago, then stopped, and now have returned to using it

PocketMod … this is the BEST tool by far that I’ve been using for all sorts of things (personal and work life)

Technorati tags: , ,

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in mind mapping, organization, visual thinking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting Organized – and the Tools I’ve Tried

  1. Moanna says:

    Love your blog. Just found it through Google’s blog search feature, searching for “getting organized” blogs. Downloaded FreeMind, Cmap, played with PocketMod folding instructions for awhile. Created a cute little PocketMod To Do list for the week. Ok, first item, do laundry. Hmmm perhaps I’ll check out the FreeMind features instead. Yes, much better idea. Thank you!

  2. Rory says:

    Thanks for the comments, Moanna. I use PocketMod when I have to have good ol’ fashioned paper … like emergency phone numbers that can easily fit in my wallet. For the most part, though, I use a more electronic stuff … FreeMind is (in my opinion) awesome. I am a big proponent of mind mapping – and this program just fits the bill perfectly.
    Hope it works well for you too.
    Rory

  3. Pingback: Collaborative mind mapping - I’m lovin’ it « Learn-Learn-Learn

  4. Idetrorce says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  5. Rory says:

    Glad you found this interesting, idetrorce.
    Might I ask with what you disagree?

Comments are closed.