a Formula for Compelling Content

The mind is an amazing thing – I was having a meal with a colleague; we were talking shop … and ‘boing!’ the memory came back … out of the blue kinda thing …

I heard Elliott Masie speak a few years ago about managing learning versus learning management … and at one point he said something to the effect of ‘here’s a formula for ensuring your content is compelling to the learners.’

Take all the content

Subtract the stuff I already know (if they know it, then they don’t need to be trained on it)

Subtract the stuff I can look up quickly and easily (it’s just easier for me to look it up on my own)

Subtract the stuff I won’t use right away (can we say ‘learning decay’?)

What is left is the content that is compelling enough to be included in the training program.

About Rory

I make my home in the central part of the Garden State along with my family. When I'm not working as an Instructional Designer (focusing mostly on Web-Based learning ... and other eLearning technologies) or researching something, I'm found at home playing computer or video games. Among other things, I volunteer as a choir member and catechist for 8th graders at my parish.
This entry was posted in instructional design, learning. Bookmark the permalink.